Site officiel de Maurice Journeau, compositeur de musique française du XXe siècle
Version française du site de Maurice Journeau Choose Maurice Journeau's website language

Hommage à trois compositeurs français du XXè siècle

Authors :Daniel-Lesur, Journeau, Petit
Title :"Hommage à 3 compositeurs du XXème siècle"
Works :
  • Daniel-Lesur : "Suite pour quatuor à cordes"
  • Journeau : "String quartet" (opus 11)
  • Petit : "Troisième quatuor"
Interpreters :Quatuor de Chartres
Running time :46'00"
Produced by :REM n°31 13 35 XCD (2000)
Distributed by : available at the following address :
Association "Les Amis du Quatuor de Chartres"
21, rue de la Paix
28300 Leves. France
Booklet :8 pages. French by Pierrette Germain. English translation: B. Waterhouse

Press articles


The string quartet was composed in Nice and ended by the author as he was twenty-eight years old (opus 11, 1927).

Yet Journeau always considered this work as one most characteristic sample of his personal way of writing.

Published by "Editions Combre" in Paris, the work mingles lively youthfulness and passionate accents; attention must be drawn to a beautiful slow movement which always appeals to the heart of the audience.